About UOFG

The University of Gezira was established in the city of Wad Medani, the capital of the Gezira state in accordance with a Republican Decree issued on the 19th of November 1975.More .

  • Location
    University City - Wadmedani - Gezira State - Sudan
  • E-mail it@uofg.edu.sd
  • Phone(00249)5118 43174
  • Phone(00249)5118 40466
  • Fax+249 183487591

UOFG Council

The University Council, represents the highest executive authority of the University and chaired by a national figure. The University Council is formed by an order of His excellency the President of the Republic who is the Guardian of the university. The Vice Chancellor and Deputy Vice Chancellor of the university are appointed by the President of the Republic from senior faculty members. The Vice Chancellor of the University is the link between the university Council and other organs of the university and reports to the Council on the implementation of policies and decisions.

The University Council is responsible for the University’s general development, efficiency of operation and financial management. The Council formulates policies and plans to develop the university and improve its performance scientifically, educationally and financially. Also, the council is in charge of formulating the development plan of the University, approve the annual budget proposals for development, the development of university funds, accept contributions, donations, endowments and identify exploitation avenues. The Council has the power for establishing Faculties and institutes, centers, departments, and university hospitals. The Council meets regularly, twice a year at least )in the fourth Saturday of the months of March and October(.for transaction of its business

The University Council membership includes:

A. (21) Members from outside the university:

B. Ex officio members
1. Vice Chancellor
2. Deputy Vice Chancellor
3. Principal
4. Dean of Academic Affairs
5. Dean of Student Affairs
6. Dean of libraries
C. Nine Members from within the university:
D. Student representatives
1. Chairman of the University of Gezira Student Union
2. Member of the Executive Office of the University of Gezira Student Union